Domestic Violence Shelter Renovating to Accommodate Pets

Why? Because a woman’s dog protected her from her abuser, physically covering her and taking the blows of the hammer itself–and the woman wouldn’t leave her dog behind. The director, moved, took her and her pooch in, and are now renovating the building to accommodate pets.

Go read the story. But if you’re anything like me, you’ll cry.

Sniff, sniff.

Really, though, I’m so glad the Rose Brooks Center is doing this. I hope more shelters will follow suit.

About Brittany-Ann
Brittany-Ann is a proud, self-identified feminist with fictional tendencies. She currently writes for LouisvilleKY.com and moderates at My Fault I'm Female. She smokes camels, reads Dumas, and navigates a conservative state as "one of them darn liberals."

Leave a comment