Beemer’s Exciting News Update!

Posting has been light lately, and I do apologize for that.

Early last week, I finally did something I’ve been meaning to do since I moved back to the ‘Ville: I joined a gym. It has been something a couple of coworkers and I have been talking about since the beginning of the new year. Last week, a coworker and I decided to check out a gym near our Place of Work, and joined on the spot! Fun times!

We decided to go after work, and lo and behold, we weren’t the only ones from our Place of Work that are members of this particular gym. Surprise! So we’ve all been going together. While this makes me happy, it has messed with my sleeping schedule, and my body is still adjusting to that, as well as to all the physical activity. This is meant to be a positive thing for my body, so I’ve been careful to rest enough in order not to trigger my epilepsy.

Eventually I hope to train my body to sleep after I get home from the gym, and wake up early enough so that I have plenty of time to write before work. It didn’t work so well last night–I had so much energy because of my next piece of news!

Last night, I was a guest on Triple J’s Sunday Night Safran–an Australian radio program! We talked about my being a feminist gun owner, something I’ve written about here several times. I had a fabulous time; I’d love to do it again! Thanks to the hosts, John Safran and Father Bob Maguire, and especially to the producer, Serpil Senelmis. The show will air Sunday evening in Australia (Saturday here in the U.S.) and will be online as a podcast Monday (Sunday here in the States.). Once the podcast is online, I’ll post it here, along with some commentary.

I decided to try something new with this blog–book reviews, as you may have noticed. Is that something you would like to see more of?

I have recently made another change in my life–I’m…cooking. Confession time! I love food, but I hate cooking. It’s so much work! So, I’ve been relying on frozen dinners, skillet dinners, and leftovers from my sister’s cooking. While that was cheaper than ordering takeout all the time, it wasn’t much healthier. So, last week, I went to the grocery, and picked up some food that would require me to, you know, cook it before I ate it. I am doing fairly well so far! I made eggplant parmesan, squash, kale, and a huge batch of my epic tuna at the beginning of the week. Ladies and gents, I have not had to cook, order take out, or throw a frozen chunk of processed food in the microwave all week. I am very proud of myself. I hope I can keep it up!

Has anything exciting happened to you lately?

About Brittany-Ann
Brittany-Ann is a proud, self-identified feminist with fictional tendencies. She currently writes for LouisvilleKY.com and moderates at My Fault I'm Female. She smokes camels, reads Dumas, and navigates a conservative state as "one of them darn liberals."

3 Responses to Beemer’s Exciting News Update!

  1. Since we are talking about cooking, I cooked my very first dish of Georgian cuisine today. (Georgia like the country, not the state.) And it wasn’t even horrible. 🙂

    Have fun with your new cooking hobby! Cooking rocks.

    • Brittany-Ann says:

      Ooh! What did you make?

      Thank you! I still have some zucchini to cook, and I haven’t decided what to do with it yet. I hadn’t thought of it being a hobby-perhaps thinking of cooking as a hobby rather than a time consuming chore will help me to keep up with it. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Pushing the Limits « A Bookish Beemer

Leave a Reply

