What I’m Reading

I thought I’d share what my reading list has looked like recently:

Reading Now:

Republican Gomorrah: Inside the Movement that Shattered the Party by Max Blumenthal. This is a Kindle book. It’s a recent history and analysis of the Republican party. Very interesting so far–I’m 33% of the way through it.

Into the Storm: A Study in Command by Tom Clancy with Ret. General Fred Franks, Jr. This is a second read-through for me, though it’s been about eight years. My copy is in paperback. It’s a thorough look at the first Gulf War–events, strategy, and leadership, as well as a sort of biography for General Franks, who commanded the main force that pushed the Iraqis out of Kuwait. I remember liking it a lot the first time around, and I’m interested to see how much more I’ll understand with several years of Civil Air Patrol and two years of Army ROTC under my belt. On page 44/688

Read Recently:

Quiverfull: Inside the Christian Patriarchy Movement by Kathryn Joyce. This is a Kindle book. I’d heard this book mentioned numerous time at No Longer Quivering, so I decided to check it out. I’ve been a regular reader of NLQ for quite some time now, along with the blogs of several of the contributors there, so I’m familiar with the movement. This book, however, interviews those still in the movement as well as those who have left it–a valuable insight. Definitely recommended.

Escape by Carolyn Jessop and Laura Palmer. This is a Kindle book. Carolyn Jessop was born and raised in the FLDS, the Fundementalist church of Latter-Day Saints, an extreme Mormon cult that practices arranged marriages and polygamy. She tells of her life in the cult, as well as her successful attempt to escape with her children. She was the first to escape the FLDS with her children, and retain custody of them. This book is recommended, especially for those who are interested in the way religion interferes with government in the United States.

Triumph: Life After the Cult–A Survivor’s Lessons by Carolyn Jessop and Laura Palmer. This is a Kindle book. Carolyn writes of her family’s adjustment to life outside the cult, as well as giving advice to other women who want to escape from a cult. She also writes of the FLDS’ move to Texas, the raid of the cult’s ranch, and Texas’ failing at removing the children from its custody and connecting/assisting women who wanted to leave. Recommended, especially if you read escape.

On my reading list:

The Whip by Karen Kondazian

About Brittany-Ann
Brittany-Ann is a proud, self-identified feminist with fictional tendencies. She currently writes for LouisvilleKY.com and moderates at My Fault I'm Female. She smokes camels, reads Dumas, and navigates a conservative state as "one of them darn liberals."

Leave a Reply

