An Observation on Product Placement: Walgreens

As I browsed the health care aisle for my go-to pain reliever, I notice that the condoms, lubricants, pregnancy tests, and vibrators were gone. I checked the other side of the aisle-nope, not there, either.

I wondered for a moment if some fundy campaign had hassled Walgreens into removing them from their stores.

But then it occurred to me: the “feminine care and baby needs” aisle. I went to check. Sure enough, right across from the diapers, sat the condoms, lubricants, pregnancy tests, and vibrators.

Hmm.

Why had these items been moved from the all-encompassing health care aisle, to the specialized, less-trafficked, dubiously named “feminine care” aisle?

Hmm.

About Brittany-Ann
Brittany-Ann is a proud, self-identified feminist with fictional tendencies. She currently writes for LouisvilleKY.com and moderates at My Fault I'm Female. She smokes camels, reads Dumas, and navigates a conservative state as "one of them darn liberals."

One Response to An Observation on Product Placement: Walgreens

  1. Bonita says:

    The name of the aisle does make me cringe. But every time I find myself in a Walgreens on a Saturday with a fresh UTI, searching desperately for Azo, I wander in blind pain towards the condoms and lube. And when I find that tampons and “girlie pills” are located elsewhere, it really really really upsets me that Walgreens thinks my reproduction related needs require two separate sections. I would welcome such a change locally from my drugstores. I’d say that tampons, pads, pregnancy tests, yeast infection care, UTI tests and pain relievers, condoms, lube, vibrators, and — hell — even douches should all be on the same aisle.. But that aisle should definitely be within the all-encompassing health care section.

Leave a Reply

