The Deck of Ableist Cards

Last night at work, several co-workers and I were talking about the amount of sleep we get each night. I mentioned that I needed 9-10 hours of sleep a night, and I didn’t even get to finish my sentence before a co-worker burst out laughing. “Nine to ten hours?” he mocked. “How old are you? I’m forty years old, and I’m lucky if I get six! When I was your age, I was good to go on four!”

Blink.

Blink.

“I have epilepsy,” I said. “If I don’t get enough sleep, I’ll have a seizure.”

The wave of silence crashed over our group. Yon co-worker lost his jeering expression, but wasn’t in the least bit apologetic about mocking me.

In an ableist world, where neurological abnormalities and physical impairments are an oddity, more a butt of a collective joke rather than something that real people have, have to live with, and have to deal with, where we’re an inconvenience at best and leech on society at worst, this is what we have to deal with on a day-to-day basis.

Last night, I was slapped with the lazy card. Which card will it be today?

About Brittany-Ann
Brittany-Ann is a proud, self-identified feminist with fictional tendencies. She currently writes for LouisvilleKY.com and moderates at My Fault I'm Female. She smokes camels, reads Dumas, and navigates a conservative state as "one of them darn liberals."

3 Responses to The Deck of Ableist Cards

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention The Deck of Ableist Cards « A Bookish Beemer -- Topsy.com

  2. Pingback: Tales of Epilepsy: Internalized Ableism « A Bookish Beemer

  3. miguel says:

    I understand I to suffer from seizures and a sleeping disorder so I’m always nervous about having an attack people think it’s a joke and that it’s all a bunch of excuses so I can get away with certain things. Us people who have this condition go threw alot and always have to think twice before doing anything whoever doesn’t have it will just never understand.

Leave a Reply

