A Question To GOP And Their Supporters

So, I’m really curious. What happened to the GOP agenda being all about the economy and jobs, jobs, jobs? ‘Cause it seems to me, that all of these attacks on women’s abortion rights and the narrowing of the definition of rape have nothing to do with either of those.

About Brittany-Ann
Brittany-Ann is a proud, self-identified feminist with fictional tendencies. She currently writes for LouisvilleKY.com and moderates at My Fault I'm Female. She smokes camels, reads Dumas, and navigates a conservative state as "one of them darn liberals."

4 Responses to A Question To GOP And Their Supporters

  1. mcoville says:

    How has any legislation “attack” a women’s abortion rights and/or narrowed the definition of rape? If you are talking about HR3, please quote where in the legislation it does this and not just copy and paste from moveon.org or some other media arm of the DNC.

  2. Brittany-Ann says:

    From the House’s own summary of the bill: “Provides that such prohibitions shall not apply to an abortion if: (1) the pregnancy is the result of forcible rape…”

    Forcible rape, my dear, is the problem. But it appears that the GOP has acquiesced and deleted “forcible” from the text of the bill. The whole piece of legislation is a problem. Didn’t the GOP also promise no new taxes? And here they are, proposing additional taxes on small business who offer insurance plans that cover abortion. Shouldn’t the Tea Party be protesting?

    However, I’m also talking about Kentucky’s SB 9.

    You would do well to do research yourself. It’s not polite to come to other people’s blogs and demand they do your research for you. For all that you call progressives “sheep” you sure tow your party line very well. Just FYI, though you may want to sit down for this, MoveOn.org is not so powerful as to command the entire population of progressives in the country. Nor is the DNC. If you can find on my blog where it says I’m a representative of either, I’d appreciate you pointing me to it.

    • mcoville says:

      Thank you for responding to my comment. I appreciate your attempt to support your comment, but I must disagree.

      I have read HR3, and re-read the text you quoted, and do not see where the GOP is trying to redefine rape or attack a women’s abortion rights. What I did see what a redundant term “forcible rape”, all rape is forcible. As you noted, the congress has corrected the redundant term so that should be cleared up.

      I also do not see where HR3 will raise taxes, in fact it will lower government spending. If a private business decides to spend extra to cover abortions, thats their choice, so you could say this is a pro-choice bill.

      As for KY’s SB-9 I am sorry for not being familiar with every state’s local legislation, I do my best to keep up with Florida’s as that is my home state. If you link to the legislation I would be more than happy to read it, better yet if you just quote what text you feel does either “attack” a women’s abortion rights and/or narrowed the definition of rape”.

      Lastly, I never called you a sheep or said that you followed moveon.org or the DNC. I only suggested that would do better to get information about HR3 from other sources, like http://thomas.loc.gov/. Also, to pass judgement on my political views based on one comment is pretty impressive, can you tell me how I voted in the 1992 presidential race? Here’s a hint, his nickname is Bubba.

      • Brittany-Ann says:

        The problem is exactly that the term “forcible rape” is undefined. Many, many, feminist organizations, blogs, and people have outlined the problem with this, pardon me, I’d assumed you’d read the arguments you’re criticizing. “Forcible rape” is not a legal term, and it was not defined in the legislation. As you pointed out, all rape is forcible, but considering many GOP politicians, commentators, and citizens believe in “gray rape” feminists don’t have much faith in a GOP-written bill. (Most wouldn’t have faith in a Democrat-authored bill, either.) Taking the cultural context with the history of rape law, it’s easy to see where the issue is with the term “forcible rape.” I’m assuming you know the history of rape laws, yes? It’s rather upsetting, so I’d rather not have to tap it out if I don’t have to.

        No, I don’t know the whole of your political views. Likewise, you don’t know where I get my information. I spend more time reading actual legislation than I do on Moveon.org (rarely) or the DNC’s website (perhaps one or twice in 2008). (I’m an academic, and so a big fan of primary sources.) I’m not a Democrat, either. I do, however, make a point to visit the blog of my commenters, so that I might have some context for their comments. Hence, the “sheep” reference. However, it does seem that assumptions have made an ass of you and me. Truce?

        As for the rest, restricting the services that doctors might offer to their patients is not choice–it’s government interference. Blackmailing businesses and insurance companies to prevent them from offering employees and customers an oft-performed procedure isn’t very pro-business, and is also government interference, is it not? Kentucky’s SB9 endeavors to require women who need an abortion to undergo an ultrasound 24 hours before the abortion may take place. If she will not look at it, the doctor must describe the image to her. These measures are clearly designed to make abortion more difficult to obtain and more expensive, and quite the pain in the arse. Do you disagree? Certainly no other medical procedure is no minutely regulated and controlled by the government.

Leave a Reply

