Musings on Academia and a Blog Recommendation.

Recently, I’ve taken to visiting Clarissa’s blog more and more. I’ve previously read a post here or there, but was never a regular. Now, I’ve made up my mind to become a regular reader.

Who is Clarissa? Well, this should explain it:

An academic’s opinions on feminism, politics, literature, philosophy, teaching, academia, and a lot more.

This is the subtitle of her blog, which sums up the content quite nicely. (I’ve never been able to do that very well, for some reason, with my own blog title and posts.)

I left academia in May 2010, having graduated from WKU. I was extremely excited. To be done! with writing papers! forever! (for now.) It wasn’t long before I started to miss it terribly. For lovers of learning, there is no place quite like academia. The past several weeks, I watched via Facebook as my friends back at WKU chose next semester’s classes (jealous!), bitched about all-nighters, about presentations and papers and exams (oh my!), and started counting down til the winter break. Meanwhile, I’m working a second shift job, that has nothing to do with my degree, for the decent-ish pay and good benefits, and I’m going crazy doing it.

What does all this have to do with Clarissa? Nothing really, I don’t know her at all (but I’d like to!), but more her writing.

Her post on Fox News made me snicker. It appeals to my interest in politics and news. I bookmarked it to show my conservative friends at an appropriate moment mid-debate. The evil, evil liberal in me delights in the potential facial expressions her post will get from said friends.

Just from this last week, there were several posts regarding academia that made me feel in the loop, almost like I was back at WKU.

Misery is Fashionable. This post is about all the complaining that teachers do, but it reminds me of all the complaining college students (myself included) do as well. Why did I take up smoking? Oh yeah. College. To be completely honest, student government drove me to start, but striving to complete two majors, in addition to all the other things I was involved in, in only four years kept me smoking. For all the complaining, as Clarissa said, academia is well worth it, so much that I’m thinking more and more about becoming one of those awesome English professors that I so adore.

The Best Piece of Advice I Can Offer on Surviving Grad School. I was not so good about relaxing on weekends. I relaxed, all right, but I felt guilty the entire time. Perhaps I’ll be better in grad school, y/y?

This post, especially resonated with me, as a humanities student. I’ll probably write my own response to the “article” that Clarissa was responding to in her post sometime later.

 

About Brittany-Ann
Brittany-Ann is a proud, self-identified feminist with fictional tendencies. She currently writes for LouisvilleKY.com and moderates at My Fault I'm Female. She smokes camels, reads Dumas, and navigates a conservative state as "one of them darn liberals."

6 Responses to Musings on Academia and a Blog Recommendation.

  1. Clarissa says:

    Thank you, Bookish Beemer! Academia will be lucky to get somebody like you as a future great English professor.

  2. Irish says:

    Hi Brittany-Ann. I followed you from Clarissa’s Blog about fraternities because I wanted to share with you my surprise that you felt that the ‘requirement’ for community service in greek societies negates the value and significance of it. Allow me to offer a paradigm shift: The true value of community service cannot be understood until one actually experiences it. In addition to reflecting well on the greek organization and the institution, it exposes young people to something of great value they may not yet have (or otherwise ever) experience. Which is kind of the whole point in college. Non-affiliated students at most universities have no such requirement and thus miss out on this valuable life opportunity.

    And as for my presumptuousness in quoting the dictionary to an English Lit professor, welllllll, please realize that I only followed her lead in doing exactly that to others earlier in the discussion. She posted the definitions of ‘elite’ versus ‘elitism’. Or is she entitled to special consideration because she is an English Lit prof – which of course might smack of – – – – wait for it – – – – elitism.

    • Brittany-Ann says:

      I’ve edited your name out as you asked. Thank you for that courtesy. I would ask, out of consideration for myself, my blog and its readers, and to Clarissa, that you keep the discussion of that post, to that post. I’ve responded to it there. If you’d like to browse my blog posts, and respond to them, you are of course welcome. I must ask, though, that if you do, to adhere to my comments policy, which is available at the top of the page, and based around respect.

      As to the rest? Well, some commenters made a mistake, mixing up meanings of words. She corrected them. As a teacher, I would expect no less from her. Yours was an attempt to belittle and discredit her, and there is a world of difference between the two. And yes, I believe she is entitled to respect as a professor, in consideration of her work to get her degrees, and her role as a teacher, whether or not one sits in her classroom.

  3. Irish says:

    Brittany-Ann

    After posting, I saw that my actual name was published. I gave you my name as a courtesy, but would prefer to remain anonymous otherwise. Would you please remove my name prior to approving my comment. Thank you in advance for your courtesy.

  4. Irish says:

    although thinking about it, my comment was to you specifically about Clarissa’s blog, so it wouldn’t have a logical place for you to publish it here anyway. In any case, though, thanks for taking the time to consider what I have said. Regards. John

Leave a Reply

