Perspectives on Danger

So, the other day, I got a knock on my door. Actually, a single bang. Before I opened the door, I checked through the peephole. A finger was blocking the view.

It turned out to be a friend of my little brother, but I wasn’t happy. My brother responded thusly:

“Why do you always get so mad?”

Why, indeed. He didn’t get it. That’s a prime example of male privilege, white privilege, straight, cis, class, and probably able bodied privilege, too.

To put it plainly, someone banging on your door, and inhibiting your ability to see who it is unless you open the door is one of those Big Red Flags of danger. It’s one of those things parents warn their children about, but especially daughters. It’s yet another one of those everyday things that not only make women afraid to live in the world, because it’s true enough to make someone paranoid, but not true enough to level accusations of extreme paranoia and humorlessness.

My brother’s friend thought he was being funny.

But it wasn’t. At least not to everyone who doesn’t look like him. My brother and his friend can play jokes like that on each other, and laugh at them, because things like that just don’t happen. To them, that is. They’re born with the privilege of, largely, not having to worry about Danger. To them, we’re just humorless.

About Brittany-Ann
Brittany-Ann is a proud, self-identified feminist with fictional tendencies. She currently writes for LouisvilleKY.com and moderates at My Fault I'm Female. She smokes camels, reads Dumas, and navigates a conservative state as "one of them darn liberals."

Leave a Reply

