Take Over the Hash Tag!

Twitter is becoming more and more a way to make a statement. CNN and political commentators are even putting people’s relevant tweets on the air while discussing certain topics. I knew nothing of this potential when I joined Twitter–I joined so I could update my facebook status from my phone, so I could keep my friends and family updated while I was studying abroad last semester.

Some of the trending topics and hash tags are silly, often discussing celebrities or the latest television show. But often, they comment on news pieces, politics, and subjects relevant to feminism.

I noticed a hash tag on a friend’s twitter just now that I found interesting:
#its2010whyareyoustill

I used it to comment on Utah’s legislation that would criminalize a woman for miscarrying, but there’s a lot of feminist potential for this tag–how about it, fellow Tweeters? How about we hijack this hash tag to get a feminist message out?

Do it once, do it twice, do it all day!

Post on twitter a feminist ideal or goal we’d have thought might not be an issue by now.

For you non-tweeters, a mini-tutorial:

Join Twitter, if you already haven’t.

Twitter is, if you’re more familiar with Facebook, basically your Facebook status, except you have only 140 characters to do it in.

If you’re not, you have 140 characters to tell friends what you’re doing, what you feel, or just about anything else. So long as it’s 140 characters or less, you’re golden.

Hash tags, basically are #(+something people talk about here). It is a way to find other people who are talking about the same thing you are. Anything you write with a hash tag with become a link that, if you click on it, will search for other users that used the same tag. You can use one you see, or you can make one up of your own.

About Brittany-Ann
Brittany-Ann is a proud, self-identified feminist with fictional tendencies. She currently writes for LouisvilleKY.com and moderates at My Fault I'm Female. She smokes camels, reads Dumas, and navigates a conservative state as "one of them darn liberals."

Leave a Reply

