A Brilliant Observation on Anti-Choicers

A commenter named GWPDA made a very good point on this post:

“It’s about eliminating women from their positions as free citizens – emancipated and fully legitimate. If I am not trusted to make a decision on my own about my own body, then I am most certainly not trusted to exercise the franchise, sign a contract, or hold property in my own name. I have been eliminated as a citizen of the United States.”

Indeed.

We are too stupid to realize that it is a fetus we want to expel from our uteri when we seek an abortion, so we have to be told it’s a “life” and a “separate human being.”

We are too stupid to have made our decision before we make an appointment, shove our way through screeching, aggressive protesters, and enter a clinic, so we must wait twenty-four hours.

We are too stupid to know what a fetus or an embryo looks like, so we must have probes shoved inside us, so that we may be enlightened.

We’re too stupid to make decisions about our bodies, so why should we have any rights at all?

Perhaps anyone marginally on the pro-life side, or on the fence, should investigate what the leaders of the pro-life movement really believe before you listen to their raving about abortion.

About Brittany-Ann
Brittany-Ann is a proud, self-identified feminist with fictional tendencies. She currently writes for LouisvilleKY.com and moderates at My Fault I'm Female. She smokes camels, reads Dumas, and navigates a conservative state as "one of them darn liberals."

One Response to A Brilliant Observation on Anti-Choicers

  1. Yeah, I got in a lot of trouble 25 years ago when I made a pro-life argument on feminist grounds (why should only the girl pay the consequences of teen sex — in that case, getting kicked out of the National Honor Society as a poor role model when she decided to have the baby, which to her was the morally correct choice at that point — while the guy remained unknown and unpenalized). When the piece appeared in Commonweal, I got mail from the staff of an abortion provider who was very prominent in the women’s movement suggesting I was inappropriately co-opting feminist theory. I dunno. I think women’s rights are women’s rights.

    Now you and I differ on the rights of women who have yet to be born, but one thing I like about our conversations is that we’re respectful of each other. Which is not something I can say about a lot of the diatribe that’s happening these days. As someone said recently, the difference between the 2008 primary and the 2012 primary is that in 2008, you had two candidates with passionate followers, and in 2012, you have two candidates whose followers passionately hate the other candidate. (I’m working in the Obama office tomorrow night …)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 253 other followers

